It all started so well …. the 1% inspiration is here, but the 99% perspiration seems to be missing.

RAVINGS IN CINEMASCOPE

Fan fiction. Loved by those who are keen on it and almost universally ridiculed by everyone else. For me, it depends. I find slash fiction gross – the idea that Draco Malfoy and Harry Potter, or the Doctor and a Dalek, for example, would even WANT to get it on, let alone actually do it, boggles the mind. However, I don’t mind the odd bit of well-written pastiche – hell, that’s what every Doctor Who novel ever published is.

I say all this because about 18 months ago, I decided to try my hand at writing some Thunderbirds fan fiction. I came across it in a notebook the other day. I always thought I got a little further than I did, but in any case, I reckon it was going places. Tempted though I was to edit it, this is exactly as I wrote it. Basically, the story was to…

View original post 322 more words

